Three Line Tales, Week 61

The day they arrived was the day I rode my bike home. The rusty ringing of the tire rims against the soiled metal of my bike could be heard from a mile away.

When riding through a puddle in the wizened and cracked road, I heard it. The soft buzzing noise came from over the weeping horizon. Water dripped down my hair and onto my face. I could taste the rain, and smell its smoggy aroma.

That’s when I saw it. The silver propeller-like mechanical bird flew overhead. I knew I needed the run, that they were coming after all this time, but I didn’t, I just froze, the sound of a thousand pelting bullets from the distance.

Thanks so much to Sonya at https://only100words.xyz/. Love the prompts you select.

© Boundless Daydreams
In response to: Three Line Tales, Week 61
Image: Caleb WoodsCaleb Woods

3 thoughts on “Three Line Tales, Week 61

  1. Love your Three Liner, Treven, that suspended moment when your MC freezes, stunned in the reality of what’s about to happen. Very good. Love some of those descriptions too, the rusty bike and the wizened road particularly. Very nicely done.
    Thanks for the follow and for introducing me to your great blog. Love the look of the blog too, BTW – that type writer image is wonderful

    Like

Leave a Reply

